AFL Club Ties

AFL History: In 1857, Tom Wills, together with his cousin and a couple of mates, devised a new kind of game as a way of keeping fit for cricket during the winter. In 1896 the VFL kicked off with the foundation clubs – Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Fitzroy, Geelong, Melbourne, St. Kilda and South Melbourne. Joined In 1908 by Richmond and (until 1914) University, the VFL thrived, attracting Footscray (now the Western Bulldogs), Hawthorn and North Melbourne by 1925.

This line-up of 12 clubs would remain unchanged until 1987 when the competition expanded to include the West Coast Eagles and the Brisbane Bears. By 1997, the AFL had 16 clubs after Adelaide (1991), Fremantle (1995), and Port Adelaide (1997) joined the league and foundation club Fitzroy merged with the Brisbane Bears to form the Brisbane Lions (1996).

The AFL competition is now made up of 18 teams from across the country. Each AFL Club has a unique character, diverse origins and its own history, which in turn attracts the fans and supporters.  Which is your favourite AFL team? Make sure you show your support and get suited up when you go to their next game with the AFL endorsed Club Tie. Truly a must-have for every true blue Aussie Rules supporter.